Executive Board Members of 2016-2017

Six  heads are better than one. These are the brilliant and passionate student leaders of Alpha Gamma Sigma that works towards servicing the community. Remember we like to have fun too.

Once again the cream of the crop!

83

CATHERINE BELLE YOUNG

Nickname: I guess Cat? Haha OR BETTER YET ACHIE SIOBE #reppingfamily

What I do I AGS: PRESIDENTE

Major: Nursing

Most memorable AGS experience: Definitely Commonwealth, I love working with the little kids and seeing their faces light up when we volunteer with them.

Favorite music: Pop

5-10 things about me:

  1. I love to sing and have been singing for close to 15 years.

  2. I love doing nail art.
  3. OneRepublic is one of my favorite bands.
  4. I really like watching WWE #dontjudge.
  5. I can understand 3 different languages.
  6. I consider myself a semi-pro at liquid eyeliner.
 84

JANKI SUKHADIA

Nickname: Janu

What I Do In AGS: I am the Vice President of AGS and also the “Activities Director,” so I determine most of the events the club participates in and network with local programs that we can work with to give back to the community.

Major: Chemistry

Most Memorable AGS experience: My most memorable AGS experience is the beach cleanup fiasco of Spring 2016. I’d scheduled a beach cleanup at Oceanside Beach so members who still needed a lot of hours to meet the AGS requirements could finish them in one day. The beach cleanup was scheduled to go from 8am-6pm, so that members didn’t need to worry about transportation and everyone could just take the train. Unfortunately, I couldn’t attend this event because I had a class on Saturdays, but we’d had a really good turnout from members. When our group got to the beach, with JP in charge, they found that it was the cleanest beach they’d ever seen. Imagine my surprise when I got a call from JP saying that there was no trash in sight at Oceanside Beach and San Clemente Beach. They’d actually taken the train back a stop to the other beach as well to check. The beach cleanup ended up turning into just a fun social outing, but it was a lesson for me to check make sure I double checked the event locations and made sure they were worth making the trip to.

Favorite Music: I would say my favorite genre is pop because I do tend to like a lot of the songs on the radio from The Chainsmokers, Bruno Mars, Maroon 5, Nick Jonas, Alessia Cara, etc.

5-10 THINGS ABOUT YOU:

  1. I spend most of my free time binge watching tv shows
  2.  I love doing henna and nail art
  3. I am the very description of a bookworm. If I start reading a book, I zone out everything around me until I finish it.
  4. My favorite childhood book was The Goose Girl, next to the Harry Potter series, of course
  5. I’m the kind of person that can’t just sit and relax, I always need to be doing something. I thrive in a hectic environment where I’m always busy with a task of some sort.
  6. I am an android lover
  7. I am trilingual, and can speak “5 year old” spanish. I say this because even though I took 5 years of spanish in middle school and high school, I can’t string together a simple sentence without having to think twice about it.

 

81

JOSEPH PATRICK DABU

Board Position: Secretary

Major: Journalism

Most Memorable AGS experience: Pasadena Rose Parade 2017

Favorite Music: Jazz, 1960s Soul

5-10 THINGS ABOUT YOU:

  1.  News Editor of Fullerton College’s online newspaper The Hornet
  2. Pathway Transformation Initiative Growth Mindset Student Ambassador
  3. Avid Star Wars Fan
  4. Left Handed
  5. Piano and guitar player
  6. Record Collector
  7. Amateur Chef

 

85

ALDWIN GALANG

Nickname: Dwin

What I do I AGS: I’m the Historian also known as the Publicist. I manage AGS web page and social media like Facebook and Instagram. Don’t forget to follow my personal account @lifeofwhat

Major: Nursing

Most memorable AGS experience: This is hard because all of them are memorable like for real!

Favorite music: Alternative Rock

5-10 things about me:

  1. What I am most proud of is my club aka my family, AGS.
  2. Not a single day goes by in which I don’t say thank you.
  3. I love watching documentaries. I can watch a documentary about anything, as long as I learn something from it.
  4. I never learned how to drive a car, but it’s probably time to learn and get my driver license
  5. 500 Days of Summer and La La Land are two of my favorite movie of all time.
  6. I love the smell of a book

 

82

ROBERT DARKWOOD

Nickname: Big Daddy & Hey, You!

What do I do in AGS:  My job is to make sure we keep our Bursars account full. This means collecting membership fees, creating fundraisers, and always thinking about money for the club. I do the paperwork for everything we buy and try to keep the cost of our events as minimal as possible. More cash in the bank means more scholarships for you!

Major: Nursing

Most Memorable AGS Experience: Some very special Alphas decorated the booth for the 2016 Quad Haunt and took 1st place in the club contest. It was a great display of club spirit and a fantastic memory. GO ALPHAS! Number one!

Favorite Music: Rock n roll, some gangster rap, and show-tunes! If it’s on the radio I probably don’t listen to it. Favorite band is Death Cab For Cutie and favorite musical is RENT/Wicked.

 5 things about me:

  1. I enjoy a good workout
  2. I will eat just about anything if it is free
  3. I want to work for FEMA Response & Rescue
  4. I am a Cancer and a Leo
  5. I am single

 

86

BRIAN MUTETIKKA

What I Do In AGS: I am the Inter-Club Council Representative for AGS.

Major: Public Health/Health Science

Most Memorable AGS experience: Spending time sassing the President of AGS (Catherine) during and outside of the meetings.

Favorite Music: I like all except hardcore punk rock.

5-10 THINGS ABOUT YOU:

  1. I am 6 feet tall, and currently working on bulking up (and failing slowly).
  2. I speak 3 languages–English, Spanish, and Luganda–and am currently working on learning Portuguese.
  3. I am from Uganda, and I have been living in the U.S. for 10 years.
  4. My favorite TV shows include Game of Thrones (#Winterishere), Modern Family, How to Get Away With Murder, and Black-ish. My favorite movies are Mary Poppins, the Harry Potter series (#ProudHufflepuff), and most recently, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them.
  5. I love listening to podcasts. My favorites include 2 Dope Queens, Snap Judgement, RadioLab, and the TED Radio Hour.

 

SHOUT OUT TO OUR AMAZING AND SUPPORTIVE ADVISOR DR. NICK ARMAN!Jan 2017- March 2017 936

 

Excellence. Knowledge. Wisdom

Leave a Reply

